Finally no more essays

It’s frustrating when you’re a person who likes writing, but you have to write about things you don’t care about.

Ok, that’s a little dramatic. I was writing about things I cared about. Well, some things.

I have come to the end of studying what is, in my opinion, one of the most important subjects in our times, and one which in the last 20 years, has been resurged in worldwide debates and has heavily influenced our political views. However coming out of my degree makes me realize I probably should have studied something else.

It’s not that I’m not interested in Religion, Philosophy and Ethics. On paper, it sounded great. And I enjoyed Religious Studies at school, I enjoyed discussing the ethics of faith and different interpretations of the Bible. It was a subject I knew little about, and a having a religious faith was something I could never truly relate to, but for whatever reason it fascinated me. I couldn’t understand how so many people could share a belief in something you couldn’t physically see. And I couldn’t understand how this belief had managed to translate into such a universal worship, and in many cases, into such universal hate.

Through studying religion, I wanted to shed more light on the subject, to ease my own personal confusion if anything. And although many of the modules I have taken over the past three years are indeed fascinating on paper, I would say the lack of group discussions and the distant style of university teaching has left me with a sour taste in my mouth when it comes to uni.

This doesn’t mean I will never do any further education – there’s a lot I like about university and the student lifestyle is pretty great in many ways. But I wish I had gone into university without such high expectations. And I wish I had taken some more time to think.

Leave a Reply

