things I like about Toronto so far

Ever since I was young enough to start properly considering my future after school and university was over I’ve had a strange desire to want to move to Canada. It seems like an odd thing to wish for considering that I was lucky enough to be born into what many travel bloggers would consider one of the greatest cities in the world. But even before I truly got to experience what London really had to offer (living in the suburbs was hardly the same as a city experience), I wanted to see Canada because I thought in my mind that I would end up there and magically have a perfect life amongst friendly North Americans and black squirrels.

2016-01-23 15.46.54.jpgI’m not sure what it is about Canada which intrigues me, but when I moved to university which was right in the heart of my hometown city, I started to grow exhausted of London and its ridiculous pace. London is amazing and obviously has an endless amount to offer, but the sheer price and loneliness of the place makes it quite unliveable. There are many parts to it sure, and if you were rich enough it would probably seem great, but it’s so intimidating to live somewhere where everyone seems to be doing more than you and everyone is there for a reason. Going to university in London is more like going to work. Everyone is there to get a job and it can be a harsh place for a student. Then again, there’s not much I can compare it to, and honestly the diversity of the people living there is something that makes me very happy.

2016-01-07 11.54.20.jpg

However, this being said, I was still extremely keen to get on the study abroad band wagon and experience something different for a change. I knew I wanted to pick somewhere English speaking (my language skills are a joke), and when I saw Toronto was listed as one of my options I immediately thought back to those days when I was ten years old and looking online at how to go about moving to Canada. Having been here for about 2 weeks now, I can say that I do like it so far. The people are nicer, the streets are wider, it is cold, yes, but it’s overall more liveable, which is a nice change. It’s big enough so that you won’t get bored after a year but small enough that you won’t feel lost in it’s pace. Everyone seems a little more laid back, and the British accent is certainly helping my popularity. I’m glad I came here, even after a rocky decision as to whether or not I should leave everything for 5 months and come back to my last year of uni with potentially not many friends left. But I feel like it will be worth it, I’ve always wanted to know what it might feel like to live in Canada, and maybe now I do know what it’s like, I might come back more a more permanent stint, and actually live my childhood dream.

Leave a Reply

